Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Appointments made by Village Board

In addition to annual appointments, the Baldwin Village Board reviewed results of a compliance investigation by the St. Croix Underage Drinking Coalition, presented by Baldwin Police Chief Jim Widiker.

In the latest check, done by an underage person at each establishment licensed to sell alcoholic beverages in the village, six establishments passed and six failed. Failing the check were: Kwik Trip #747 (at I-94); Liquor Haus; Klinker's Korner; Kwik Trip #696; Kum & Go; and Freedom Value Center. Passing the check were: Eggen's Super Market; Nilssen's Super Valu; Bol's Lanes & Lounge; Citgo/Super Truck Stop; Coachman Supper Club; and Lumber Company.

According to the information presented by Widiker, in the September 2007 Compliance check, failing were: Kum & Go; Bol's Lanes; Citgo; and the Coachman. In the April 2007 Check, all the establishments checked in Baldwin passed; however, four establishments weren't checked at that time.

*In other action at the meeting, board members held an extensive discussion with Steve Olson, a pastor and president of non-profit Impact Ministries, Inc. Olson said he intends to rent, initially, four rooms at the Bradshaw Motel (Baldwin Manor) at 640 Main Street and house eight men who have had trouble with the law and substance abuse problems. According to Olson's proposal: "The intent is to provide an environment of restoration and accountability that will counter the effects of drugs and alcohol."

Olson said participants in the program would be referred by St. Croix County Courts and would be required to be sober, employed, attend meetings nightly and become active members of a local church.

Olson noted that the program will be limited to men, and will not accept anyone with a violent or sex offender background.

The concerns of board members dealt mainly with placing tenants in a environment that currently generates many police calls. Olson said participants will have a separate block of rooms with a separate entrance and there will be stringent guidelines for keeping Olson's clients away from others who live there. He said that if the program works out he will require more rooms, leading to "a slow regeneration of the building."

On a voice vote the board passed a motion in support of the program on a five to two margin.

*The Board passed an Arbor Day proclamation. It will be celebrated in Baldwin with planting trees with the assistance of children in the Community Preschool.

*Board of review was set for May 14, at which time the Board will adjourn until Wednesday, July 23.

*The Board passed a motion allowing Fireworks and More to hold a customer appreciation event at which there will be a fireworks demonstration. The event will be held May 17.

*Bids were accepted for the Main Street from 11th Avenue to 13th Avenue reconstruction work. The low bid was by Albrightson Excavating of $211,000, which is under the budgeted amount. A second project for parking lot and curb and gutter at both the Fire Hall and EMS garage was tabled because the bids were over the estimates.

Annual Village Appointments

Village Board Committees: Streets & Municipal Buildings: Trustees Kevin Brathol and Claire Stein; Water & Sewer: Trustees Brathol and Duane Russett; Budget & Finance: Trustees Greg Larson and Willie Zevenbergen; Parks & Recreation: Trustees Larson and Stein; Public Safety & Personnel: Trustees Doug Newton and Russett; United Fire and Rescue: Trustee Russett
(alternate Trustee Brathol); Care Center: Trustee Newton; Hospital Board: Village President Don McGee; Ambulance Committee: Trustees Zevenbergen and Larson (along with EMS Department Chief Craig Nelson and Sandy Reed).

Board of Review: President McGee, Village Administrator Cindy Deringer and Trustees Newton and Larson.

Citizen and Board Appointments: Zoning Board of Appeals: Jon Veenendaal (chair), Don Timmerman, Harold Grotenhuis, Randy Myer and Josh Keeney. Labor Management Committee (To study health insurance issues): Ron Phernetton (union member) and Trustee Newton.

John Traxler was appointed Director of Public Works as well as: Weed Commissioner and Forester.

Planning Commission: President McGee (chair), Jon Eggen, Scott Husby, John Walker, Jamie Klund, Willie Zevenbergen and Nancy Hable.

United Civic Center: Trustee Larson, Jay Monson, Russ Schultz, Dale Fern and Rollie Rieck.

Cemetery Advisory Board: Trustees Larson and Stein and Steve Boldt, Sextant, Bernard Lewis, Assistant Sextant, Mona Vande Berg and Dixie Chermack.

Urban Forestry Board: Public Works Director Traxler, Mike Stoffel, Chris Ruch and Trustee Stein.

Downtown Facade Loan Program/Micro Loan Program Committee: Dale Jensen, Larry Knegendorf, Dale Fern, Dave Mattison, Trustee Zevenbergen.

Police Discipline Committee: Gerry Neeley, Bob Niccum and Steve Boldt.

Library Board: Dave Phernetton, Kathy Meyer, Joni Wernlund, Trudy Klanderman, Joan Heebink and Library Director Rebecca Dixon.

Village Employees: Cynthia Deringer-Administrator/Clerk-Treasurer; Kay Suckow-Deputy Treasurer; Sue Brathol-Deputy Clerk; John Traxler-Director of Public Works; Gary Newton-Waste Water Treatment Operator; Jim Widiker-Chief of Police; Connie Juen-Police Department Administrative Assistant; Alicia Widiker-Police Clerical; Shelly Lansing-Clerk of Court; Steve Boldt-Cemetery Sextant; Craig Nelson-EMS Department Chief; Brandon Whitmer-Office manager/EMS specialist.

Professional services: Auditor-Wipfli Ullrich Bertelson; Attorney-Bakke Norman; Consulting Engineer Ayres Associates-Mike Stoffel; Building Inspector/Zoning Administrator-Brian Wert.